Spartans Track and Field Gears Up for the Eighth Annual Battle for the Obelisk

Spartans Track and Field Gears Up for the Eighth Annual Battle for the Obelisk

The Case Western Reserve University men's and women's track & field teams will host rival Carnegie Mellon University (Pa.) in the Eighth Annual Battle for the Obelisk this Saturday, January 30 at 2:00 p.m. at the Veale Center.

"The Dual with CMU is one of the very special things that we have the privilege to be a part of here at CWRU," said Head Coach Eric Schmuhl. "There are not a lot of NCAA DIII schools that have the opportunity to compete in a head to head dual meet. We're very fortunate to have both a fierce rivalry and tremendous respect for each other in this competition. Regardless of the winner, both teams leave the day better for having taken part. This year's battle on paper is extremely close and will come down to who wants it more which as a coaches, we wouldn't want it any other way." 

The Obelisk Trophy is awarded to the winning school in what has become an annual dual meet between the two programs started by former CWRU Head Coach Steve Rubin. The team with the best men's and women's combined score takes home the Obelisk.

Last season, CWRU scored a combined 151 points (81 women/70 men) to capture the Obelisk. Prior to last season's victory, the last time CWRU won the Obelisk in the overall dual meet series was on February 4, 2012 by a score of 153-101.

The Spartans will look to carry over the momentum from last Saturday's performance at the Defiance College Invitational. The women's team finished first with individual titles from senior thrower Temi Omilabu in the weight throw, sophomore sprinter Skylar Braga in the 200-meter and 60-meter dashes, freshman sprinter Olivia Newman in the 400-meter dash and senior jumper Emily Harker in the high jump.

On her final attempt in the weight throw, Omilabu tossed for a mark of 16.54m for the title and new school record. The mark bested her previous school record throw of 16.35m.

On the men's side, the Spartans also finished in first place with seven individual first place performances. Freshman sprinter Rasheed Ajala won the title in the 60-meter dash, junior sprinter Nathaniel Wahner won the 200-meter and 400-meter dashes, junior mid-distance runner Joe Ledger earned the title of the 800-meter run, sophomore Aidan DeSanto was first in the mile and senior jumper Jared Brucker won the pole vault. The men's 4x400-meter relay team also turned in a first place performance.

Crossing the finish line in the 60-meter dash with a time of 7.16, Ajala broke his previous school record time of 7.22. 

The 9th Annual Battle for the Obelisk will be the first competition on the new track surface. It was resurfaced over winter break by Beynon Sports with a 10-millimeter BSS 2000 RE System, featuring an encapsulated texture.

Live Coverage
Fans can watch a live VIDEO broadcast of the meet and a link for live stats will be posted to as soon they are made available. 

Event Schedule

Field Events

2:00 pm                 Long Jump             Men followed by Women (4 attempts each)


                              Triple Jump            Men followed by Women (4 attempts each)

                                                           The Men's TJ will follow the Women's LJ


                              Weight                   Women followed by Men (6 attempts each)


                              Shot Put                 Women followed by Men (6 attempts each)

                                                            The Women's SP will follow the Men's WT


                              Pole Vault              Women followed by Men


3:30 pm                 High Jump             Women followed by Men        


Running Events (Women followed by Men)

3:00 pm 3000

3:30 pm DMR (1200m-400m-800m-1600m)

4:00 pm 55m Hurdles

4:20 pm 55m

4:30 pm Mile

4:45 pm 400m

5:00 pm 800m

5:15 pm 200m

5:30 pm 5000m

6:10 pm 4 x 400

6:30 pm Awards Ceremony