CWRU Men’s & Women’s Tennis Claim ITA Academic Awards

CWRU Men’s & Women’s Tennis Claim ITA Academic Awards

The Case Western Reserve University men's and women's tennis teams each received the Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA) All-Academic Team award, while 11 members of the men's team were recognized as ITA Scholar-Athletes and three members of the women's squad were named ITA Scholar-Athletes.

The ITA All-Academic Team award is open to any ITA program that has a cumulative team grade point average of 3.20 or above (on a 4.00 scale).

Individual Spartan men recognized included senior Rob Stroup, juniors Zach Hennessey, Anthony Kanam and Henry Squire, sophomores Matthew Chen, Earl Hsieh, Austin Lawrence and Neil Mabee, and freshmen Chaitanya Aduru, Aaron Umen and Max Vicario.

Individual Spartan women recognized included sophomores Nicole Cardwell and Madeleine Paolucci and freshman Nidhi Jha.

In order to earn ITA Scholar-Athlete status a player must be a varsity letter winner, have a grade point average of at least 3.50 (on a 4.00 scale) for the current academic year, and have been enrolled at their present school for at least two semesters.

The Case Western Reserve University men finished the 2018-19 season ranked 12th in Division III, finishing the campaign with a 21-9 record, while the Spartan women finished the season ranked 34th in Division III after posting an 8-11 record during the year.