CWRU Women’s Tennis Season Comes to an End at NCAA Championships

CWRU Women’s Tennis Season Comes to an End at NCAA Championships

The Case Western Reserve University women's tennis team saw its 2016 campaign come to a conclusion on Thursday at the NCAA Division III Individual Championships.

In the singles draw, sophomore Nithya Kanagasegar dropped a 6-3, 6-4 decision to Caroline Ward in the round of 32.  She finished her campaign with an overall record of 15-11.

In doubles action, Kanagasegar teamed with senior Sara Zargham, falling to Kait Brogan and Shelby Harris of the University of Mary Washington, 6-2, 7-6 in the round of 16.  The duo ended the year with a 12-8 record.

The losses brought a historic 2015-16 season for the Spartans to a close.  The team, which went 14-5, was ranked as high as 19th by the Intercollegiate Tennis Association, the highest ranking in the program's history.  Individually, Kanagasegar was named the University Athletic Association Most Valuable Player, becoming the first player in program history to earn the honor.  In total, the Spartans earned four All-UAA selections, including first-team honors at first doubles for Kanagasegar and Zargham, and at second doubles for seniors Michelle Djohan and Surya Khadilkar.

Thursday's action also marked the final matches of Zargham's career, who became the first woman in school history to qualify for the NCAA Championships, doing so as a freshman in 2013.  She ended her career tied for eighth in school history with 38 singles wins, and fifth with 53 doubles wins.