CWRU Wrestling Announces Team Awards at Third-Annual Banquet

CWRU Wrestling Announces Team Awards at Third-Annual Banquet

As a part of the Case Western Reserve University Wrestling Awards Banquet on Sunday, Spartans Head Coach Danny Song announced the winners of the 2017-18 team awards.

"The future is bright!" said Song. "We had a great time celebrating the team with family and friends. This year was highlighted by our four Scholar All Americans (Alec Hoover, Andrew Hoover, Dersh-Fisher and Lewis), three of which will be back next year."

Team award winners for the 2017-18 season included the following:

Most Pins Award: Alec Hoover (10)
Dr. Si Ostrach, Scholar Athlete Award: Alec Hoover, Thomas Gallagher, Brian Kent (4.0, fall semester)
Dr. Tom McLaughlin Tortoise and the Hare Award: Alec Hoover
John T. Vaughan, CIT '37 Most Dedicated Award: Isaac Collier
The Captains Award (selected by and presented by team captains Nick Tommas and Nate Tommas): Cito Balsells
The Bill Kerslake, CIT '51 Most Improved Award: Gavin Dersh-Fisher
The Bob Del Rosa Most Valuable Wrestler Award: Andrew Hoover

"I am super encouraged by the fact that in the last three years we had three different wrestlers recognized as the Bob Del Rosa Most Outstanding Wrestler (McNamara, Collier and Andrew Hoover) and all three will return for the 2018-2019 season," said Song. "Finally, I cannot thank this year's seniors (Gordon, Balsells, Nick Tommas, Nate Tommas and Lewis) enough. They left the program in a much better place than when we all started out on this journey three years ago."