Hall All-UAA Again, Spartan Wrestlers Third at UAA Championship in NYC

Josh Hall (photo by Lynne Browske)
Josh Hall (photo by Lynne Browske)

MANHATTAN - The Case Western Reserve University wrestling team placed third at the 2014 University Athletic Association Championship hosted by New York University on Saturday at the Jerome S. Coles Sports Center. Sophomore 125-pounder Josh Hall (Galloway, Ohio/Bishop Ready) led the team with his second All-UAA performance in as many years.  

The Spartans (3-10, 0-2 UAA) fell to the University of Chicago (4-10, 1-1 UAA) by a score of 28-18 before losing to NYU (10-9, 2-0 UAA), 38-7. 

Hall, last year's UAA Rookie of the Year, went 2-0 with a win by forfeit and a major decision. Now 15-6 this season, Hall is 4-0 in UAA competition for his career. His major decision came by a count of 14-1 versus NYU's Wayne Yuan. 

Four other Spartans were 1-1 for the day. Freshman Jeff Gould (Pittsford, N.Y./Pittsford Mendon) at 133, freshman Luke Marcelli (Massillon, Ohio/Jackson) at 149 and senior captain Brian Snyder (Charlotte, N.C./East Mecklenburg) at 157 all earned wins via decision, while freshman 174-pounder David Brunk (Hood River, Ore./Hood River Valley) picked up a victory by forfeit. 

Marcelli's win gave him a team-high 25 this season (25-10 overall). 

The Spartans return home to wrap up the regular season with the annual Si Ostrach Meet on Saturday, February 22 at Horsburgh Gymnasium. Action begins at 11:00 a.m. with Thiel College (Pa.), Muskingum University and Rochester Institute of Technology (N.Y.) in town for quad-meet action. 


125: Josh Hall (C) won by forfeit; 133: Adam Wyath (U) dec. Jeff Gould (C), 9-7; 141: Charles Banaszak (U) maj dec. Connor Medlang (C), 13-4; 149: Luke Marcelli (C) dec. Jacob Smith (U), 4-2; 157: Brian Snyder (C) dec. Brennan King (U), 9-4; 165: Paul Papoustis (U) dec. Nick Lees (C), 7-4; 174: David Brunk (C) won by forfeit; 184: Sam Penissi (U) pinned Conor Driscoll (C), 1:06; 197: Mario Palmisano (U) fall Noah Feldstein (C), 1:13; 285: Jeffrey Tyburski (U) won by forfeit


125: Josh Hall (C) maj. dec Wayne Yuan (N), 14-1; 133: Jeff Gould (C) dec. Sean Billings (N) 4-3; 141: Brandon Jones (N) tech. fall Connor Medlang (C), 21-4; 149: DJ Albonico (N) dec. Luke Marcelli (C), 5-3; 157: Matt DiGiovanni (N) maj. dec. Brian Snyder (C), 11-1; 165: John Messinger (N) tech. fall Nick Lees (C), 27-10; 174: Chris Amro (N) maj. dec. David Brunk (C), 11-0; 184: Patrick Sheehan (N) pinned Connor Driscoll (C), 2:37; 197: Dan Brereton (N) won by forfeit; 285: Anthony Chu (N) won by forfeit