Spartan Softball Team Breaks School Record For Most Wins in a Single Season

Spartan Softball Team Breaks School Record For Most Wins in a Single Season

CLEVELAND - The Case Western Reserve University softball team broke the school record for the most wins in a single season after closing the regular season with an 11-game winning streak to finish the season 32-11 overall. 

The CWRU softball team currently leads all of Division III with 57 and sophomore Annie Wennerberg (Avon Lake, Ohio/Avon Lake) leads all of Division III individually after knocking out 20 home runs during the 2015 season. Wennerberg has the highest single-season slugging percentage (.962) in 131 at-bats, the most RBIs in a single season with 60 and the most total bases (126).

Senior Molly O'Brien (Northbrook, Ill./Loyola) broke the school record for most career at-bats after stepping up to the plate 560 times. She also became the school record holder in most runs scored with 167, most hits with 218, most career triples with 13, most career bases with 325, most stolen bases (65) and most stolen bases attempts (81). In a single season, O'Brien has the most runs scored after tallying 52, the most hits with 64 and tied for first for the most double plays turned with eight.

Breaking the school record for most career RBIs, senior Gena Roberts (Miami, Fla./Palmer-Trinity) has tallied 136.

Junior Rebecca Molnar (Independence, Ohio/Independence) has moved into the number one spot on the career list for lowest ERA (2.93) in 162.2 innings pitched.

Senior Rebecca Taylor (Greensburg, Pa./Greater Latrobe) now holds the school record with most career saves with eight as well as career-wins as a pitcher with 52. Taylor also the most career double plays turned recording 23. 

Freshman Katie Wede (Carmel, Ind./Carmel) now holds the single-season record for most times hit by a pitch after being tagged 13 times.

The 2015 senior class was the first recruited class by Head Coach Josie Henry. Henry earned her 100th win as the CWRU Head Coach during the team's annual University Athletic Association Championship tournament held in Florida in March.