CWRU Cross Country to Compete at 2018 UAA Championships

CWRU Cross Country to Compete at 2018 UAA Championships

The Case Western Reserve University cross country teams will be traveling to Kenosha, Wisconsin this weekend for the 2018 University Athletic Association Championships, hosted by the University of Chicago at the Wayne E. Dannehl Cross Country Course on Sunday, October 28th.

The day will begin with the men's 8K race at 11:00 a.m. CT, to be followed by the women's 6K race an hour later at 12:00 p.m. CT.  Following the race, results will be made available at  Fans can also find out more information on the event at the official meet website at

Both the CWRU men's and women's teams placed seventh at last year's meet (hosted by NYU at the Garret Mountain Reservation in New Jersey) with Washington winning the men's portion, followed by Carnegie Mellon and Emory.  The Bears also claimed the 2017 UAA women's title, followed by Chicago in second and Emory in third.

This year, the CWRU men will enter the race ranked 30th in Division III and fourth in the Great Lakes Region poll.  As is usually the case, the UAA Championships will feature a competitive field, with five of the other seven teams also ranked nationally, including second-ranked Washington, 12th-ranked Carnegie Mellon, 18th-ranked Chicago, 31st-ranked Emory and 30th-ranked NYU.  Also competing will be Rochester (ranked 10th in the Atlantic Region) and Brandeis.

The Spartan women are currently ranked 32nd in Division III and fifth in the Great Lakes Region, and will also face a stacked field at the 2018 UAA Championships.  Joining the Spartans in competition will be nationally second-ranked Washington, eighth-ranked Brandeis, 12th-ranked Chicago, 17th-ranked Emory, 18th-ranked Rochester and 25th-ranked Carnegie Mellon, in addition to unranked NYU.

Scheduled to be competing for the CWRU men this year are seniors Ben Resnick and Zach Roshon, juniors Tim Andrews, Andrew Green, David Hall, Michael Klein, and Karthik Ravichandran, sophomores Yoshmar Pinal-Alfaro, and Trey Razanauskas and freshman Spencer Weigand.  Among that group, Green is the team's top returner from last year's meet after placing 41st overall, while Roshon finished 48th, Hall 54th, Ravichandran 63rd, and Andrews 72nd among the field of 77 at the 2017 UAA Championships.

Slated to be running for the women are seniors Jennifer Hoffmann, Marissa Miyagi, Ellen Sears, Isa Torres-Padin and Sophie Trikeriotis, juniors Madeline Lindemann and Vanessa Pasaydn, sophomores Cara Giannuzzi and Kiera Olson, and freshman Susanna Henry.  Lindemann is the team's top returner from last year's meet, after earning All-UAA Second Team honors with an 11th-place finish, while Hoffmann finished in 31st-place, Pasadyn in 41st, Sears in 52nd, Torres-Padin in 61st and Giannuzzi in 68th, among the field of 76 competitors.

The top-seven finishers for both the men and the women will be named to the All-UAA First Team, with the runners who place eighth through 14th earning All-UAA Second Team Honors.  The top men's and women's finisher will claim UAA Runner of the Year honors, while the top freshman on each side will secure the Rookie of the Year award.  In addition, the top-seven first-year finishers in the men's and women's race will be recognized following the race.

Results and a full recap of the Spartans' performance at the meet will be posted to following the completion of competition.