CWRU Notches Top-Five DIII Team Finishes at All-Ohio

CWRU Notches Top-Five DIII Team Finishes at All-Ohio

The Case Western Reserve University men's and women's cross country teams competed as one of 54 schools in the 2015 All-Ohio Intercollegiate Championships on Friday afternoon on the Elvin R. King Cross Country Course hosted by Cedarville University.

The 54 schools competing were made up of Division I, Division II, Division III as well as NAIA schools across Ohio with the men running an 8K and the women competing in a 6K.

The men finished 19th of 47 teams while the women finished 16th of 47 teams. Out of the Division III schools, the CWRU men finished fourth of 19 while the women were fifth of 18.

Sophomore Sam Merriman was first to cross the finish line for the Spartans. Merriman finished 54th overall with a time of 25:40.6. Second for CWRU was junior Galen Caldwell, who finished with a time of 25:57.3 for 86th place overall. Senior captain Tony Spalding finished third for the team in 141st place, crossing the finish line with a time of 26:22.6. Seniors Chippy Kennedy and Ben Davis finished with times of 26:27.4 and 26:31.0 for 151st and 162nd, respectively. Rounding out the scoring for the Spartans, senior Timothy Travitz finished 199th overall for 26:49.6, while senior Gilad Doron finished with a time of 26:55.9 for 218th place.

Finishing first for the Spartan women, senior Kelsey Aamoth finished 14th with a time of 22:07.9. Fellow senior, Dana Jeter, was second to cross the finish line for CWRU, recording a time of 23:23.9 for 97th place. Senior Kristen Ruckstuhl, sophomore Danielle Kulpins and senior Evy Hail finished 105th, 146th and 154th overall with times of 23:27.42 ,23:43.6 and 23:47.2, respectively. Also in the 24-minute range, senior Lydia Greene crossed the finish line with a time of 23:55.3 for 167th place. Completing the scoring positions for the Spartans, senior Laura Wheeler recorded a time of 24:01.7 for 185th.

The Spartans will now take a two-week break, then return to competition on Saturday, October 17 at 11:00 a.m. for the Inter-Regional Rumble hosted by Oberlin College.