Spartan Men Win Second DIII All-Ohio Championship in a Row

The Spartans made it two All-Ohio Championships in as many years.
The Spartans made it two All-Ohio Championships in as many years.

CEDARVILLE, Ohio – For the second year in a row, the Case Western Reserve University men's cross country team captured the Division III All-Ohio Championship. On an afternoon where 13th-year Head Coach Kathy Lanese was honored as the Ohio Coach of the Year for last season's title, the Spartans placed first of 21 DIII schools running at the 59th Annual Men's Championship at Elvin R. King Cross Country Course.

The Spartans totaled 106 points to place ninth overall and ahead of a handful of DI and DII schools. John Carroll University was a close second in the DIII standings with 111 points, while Oberlin College (118), the University of Mount Union (122) and Ohio Northern University (149) completed the top five.

Individually, senior co-captain David Dixon (Atlanta, Ga./Lakeside) turned in an outstanding runner-up time of 25:57.43 amongst the 143 DIII competitors in the field.

Sophomore Timothy Travitz (Salisbury, Md./Parkside) and senior co-captain Wyatt Hoch (Perrysburg, Ohio/Perrysburg) were next to cross the finish line side-by-side in 17th (26:47.05) and 18th (26:47.92), respectively.

Rounding out the team scoring were sophomores Tony Spalding (South Bend, Ind./Marian) in 24th (27:00.94) and Gilad Doron (Wynnewood, Pa./Lower Merion) in 45th (27:35.77).

After dropping out of the USTFCCCA National Poll this past week, the Spartans are likely to vault back into the top 35 heading into their next competition, the Inter-Regional Rumble hosted by Oberlin College on Saturday, October 19 at 11:00 a.m.