Spartans Track & Field Gears Up for the 10th Annual Battle for the Obelisk

Spartans Track & Field Gears Up for the 10th Annual Battle for the Obelisk

The Case Western Reserve University men's and women's track and field teams will host rival Carnegie Mellon University (Pa.) in the 10th Annual Battle for the Obelisk this Saturday, January 27th at 2:00 p.m. at the Veale Center.

"This meet is becoming one of the many great traditions in NCAA Division III track and field," said Head Coach Eric Schmuhl. "Teams that don't have any opportunity for dual competition are always envious of what we get to be a part of. Every year, this competition comes down to the last three events of the day and it can swing either way. Coach Aldrich and I strive to always keep it that way. The more competitive this meet is, the greater the tradition becomes and the better our programs become."

The Obelisk trophy is awarded to the winning school in what has become an annual dual meet between the two programs started by former CWRU Head Coach Steve Rubin. The team with the best men's and women's combined score takes home the Obelisk.

Last season, CWRU scored a combined 125 points (66 women/59 men), but were unable to capture the Obelisk.

The Spartans will look to carry momentum from last Saturday's performance at the SPIRE Invitational. The women's team finished second with individual titles from junior Olivia Newman in the 400-meter dash, sophomore Samantha Kelts in the triple jump and senior Cassandra Laios in the weight throw and shot put.

On the men's side, the Spartans finished third with one individual first-place performance. Sophomore Dominic Oddo won the title in the long jump with a mark of 6.60 meters.

Live Coverage
Fans can watch a live VIDEO broadcast of the meet and link for live stats will be posted to as soon as they are made available.

Event Schedule

Field Events

2:00 pm                 Long Jump             Men followed by Women (4 attempts each)


                              Triple Jump            Men followed by Women (4 attempts each)

                                                           The Men's TJ will follow the Women's LJ


                              Weight                   Women followed by Men (6 attempts each)


                              Shot Put                 Women followed by Men (6 attempts each)

                                                            The Women's SP will follow the Men's WT


                              Pole Vault              Women followed by Men


3:30 pm                 High Jump             Women followed by Men        


Running Events (Women followed by Men)

3:00 pm 3000m

3:30 pm DMR (1200m-400m-800m-1600m)

4:00 pm 60m Hurdles

4:20 pm 60m

4:30 pm Mile

4:45 pm 400m

5:00 pm 800m

5:15 pm 200m

5:30 pm 5000m

6:10 pm 4 x 400

6:30 pm Awards Ceremony