Ibibo & Laios Earn Spartans’ UAA Athlete of the Week Honors

Ibibo & Laios Earn Spartans’ UAA Athlete of the Week Honors

Case Western Reserve University senior sprinter Andrew Ibibo and junior thrower Cassandra Laios were named the University Athletic Association Athletes of the week for track and field, following their performances at the Kent State Golden Gala in Kent, Ohio this past weekend.

Ibibo led the Spartan men this past weekend as he broke the school record in the 300-meter dash. He finished fourth in the event with a time of 35.64, which bests the previous school record of 36.19 set by Andre Christian in 1994. In addition, Ibibo was a member of the men's 4x400-meter relay team that finished seventh with a time of 3:25.10. That time currently ranks second in the University Athletic Association.

This was Ibibo's second UAA Athlete of the Week honor of his career.

Laios set two CWRU records during competition this past weekend. She hit a mark of 17.62 meters in the weight throw, besting the previous school record of 17.02 meters, set by former Spartan Temi Omilabu during the 2016 indoor season. Her fifth-place finish in the event was the highest among Division III competitors at the meet. On Saturday, Laios finished fifth in the shot put with a school-record mark of 14.09 meters, which bests her previous school record of 13.65 meters set last weekend at the Fifth-Annual Spartan Holiday Classic. Her marks in both the weight throw and shot put currently rank first in the University Athletic Association. Laios also currently ranks second in both events on the 2018 NCAA Division III Indoor qualifying list.

This was Laios' seventh career UAA Athlete of the Week honor.

The Spartans will resume competition in the new year, with a road meet on Saturday, January 20th at the SPIRE Invitational in Geneva, Ohio.

The following Spartans have earned UAA Track & Field Athlete of the Week honors during the 2017-18 season:


December 4th: Michael Hradesky (Men's Track), Dominic Oddo (Men's Field), Cassandra Laios (Women's Field)

December 11th: Andrew Ibibo (Men's Track), Cassandra Laios (Women's Field)