Weintraub Breaks Own Record, DMR Victorious as Spartan Men Place Seventh at All-Ohio Track & Field Championship

Harry Weintraub (photo by Lynne Browske)
Harry Weintraub (photo by Lynne Browske)

WESTERVILLE, Ohio – Senior Harry Weintraub (Croton-on-Hudson, N.Y./Hendrick Hudson) broke his own school record in the weight throw, and the distance medley relay quartet placed first as the Case Western Reserve University men's track & field team turned in a seventh-place finish at the All-Ohio Championship on Saturday afternoon at Clements Recreation and Fitness Center.

The University of Mount Union won the team championship with 132.50 points, while Ohio Wesleyan University was runner-up at 93. Host Otterbein University finished third with 65 markers. The Spartans ended the day with 40.

The squad's top point performance came in the DMR as the team of freshman Galen Caldwell (Seattle, Wash./Roosevelt), sophomores Devon Belew (Kansas City, Mo./Park Hill) and Austin Olshavsky (Brunswick, Ohio/Brunswick), and freshman Joe Ledger (New York, N.Y./Bronx Science) ran a meet-best time of 10:30.02.

Also claiming All-Ohio honors with top-three finishes were Weintraub and the all sophomore 4x400-meter relay team of Jonathan Freeman (Houston, Texas/Awty International School), Perry Billet (Massillon, Ohio/Jackson), Abdallah Soliman (Mechanicsburg, Pa./Cumberland Valley) and Belew. 

Weintraub earned a second-place finish in the weight throw with a toss of 59 feet, four and three-quarters of an inch. The senior captain previously set the record last month.

The aforementioned 4x4 relay finished third with a time of 3:28.24.

Last night, a large contingent from the team competed at the Mid-February Meet hosted by Baldwin Wallace University. Highlighting that event, senior pole vaulter John Marshall (Sturgis, Mich./Sturgis) tied for first by clearing the bar at 13'5.25".

The Spartans next compete on Friday, February 21 at the Greater Cleveland College Championship hosted at the Harrison Dillard Track in Berea, Ohio. The event is scheduled to begin at 5:00 p.m.