Men’s Tennis Starts Off Fall Strong at the Kenyon Invitational

Men’s Tennis Starts Off Fall Strong at the Kenyon Invitational

In an abbreviated version of the Kenyon Invitational this weekend, the Case Western Reserve University men's tennis team bounded off to a strong start to their fall campaign, with the team's six doubles pairings winning four of the five draws and going a combined 26-3 on Saturday and Sunday.

The original format of the tournament was altered due to poor weather conditions, with only the five doubles draws contested on Saturday.  Junior Anthony Kanam and sophomore Jonathan Powell won the 'A' doubles flight, going 3-0 with an 8-4 win over Kenyon's Jacob Zalenski and Austin Diehl in the opening round, an 8-5 victory over Carnegie Mellon's Nicholas Calzolano and Ray Boppana in the semifinals, and an 8-1 win over Denison's Kevin Brown and Blake Burstein in the finals.  Also in the 'A' draw, sophomore Matthew Chen and freshman Chaitanya Aduru bested Walsh's Jakob Riglewski and Pedro Campos in the opening round, before falling in the semifinals.

Juniors Sam Concannon and Zach Hennessey dropped the opening match of the 'B' flight, before batting back to win their next two matches, including an 8-5 win over Denison's Brian Weisberg and Vlad Rotnov in the consolation finals.  The freshman duo of Aaron Umen and Max Vicario went undefeated in their collegiate debut, going 3-0 in the 'C' flight with an 8-3 win over John Carroll's Andy Siciliano and David Sinese in the final match.

Winning the 'D' draw were junior Siddharth Rajupet and sophomore Earl Hsieh, who topped Denison's Akshat Agarwal and Jacob Dennen 8-6 in the finals, while senior Rob Stroup and freshman Kenneth Boyette won the 'E' flight with an 8-0 win over Kenyon's Mattias Mauviel and Henry Wessel in the final match.

The Spartans continued their strong play on Sunday, going a combined 11-1 in doubles action during the day against competitors from Carnegie Mellon, Denison and Kenyon.

The Spartans will continue their fall season next weekend, splitting the squad between the Cincinnati Collegiate Invitational and the Oberlin Invitational.