CWRU Men’s & Women’s Tennis Claim ITA Academic Awards

CWRU Men’s & Women’s Tennis Claim ITA Academic Awards

The Case Western Reserve University men's and women's tennis teams each received the Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA) All-Academic Team award, while 12 members of men's team were recognized as ITA Scholar-Athletes and five members of the women's squad were named ITA Scholar-Athletes.

The ITA All-Academic Team award is open to any ITA program that has a cumulative team grade point average of 3.20 or above (on a 4.00 scale).

Individual Spartan men recognized included seniors Adam Collins, Kevin Dong, James Fojtasek, and Phillip Gruber, sophomores Oludayo Areke, John Benedetto, and David Zakhodin, and  freshmen Zach Hennessey, Anthony Kanam, Rohith Koneru, Siddharth Rajupet and Henry Squire.

Individual Spartan women recognized included senior Jennifer Lowe, junior Nithya Kanagasegar, sophomore Jessica Liu and freshmen Lauren Beier and Katie Busch.

In order to earn ITA Scholar-Athlete status a player must be a varsity letter winner, have a grade point average of at least 3.50 (on a 4.00 scale) for the current academic year, and have been enrolled at their present school for at least two semesters.

The Case Western Reserve University men finished the 2016-17 season ranked 15th in Division III, finishing the campaign with a 22-6 record, while the Spartan women finished the season ranked 18th in Division III, after posting a 17-5 record during the year.