No. 10 Spartans Fall to No. 4 Emory in UAA Championship Third-Place Match

Will Drougas
Will Drougas

ALTAMONTE SPRINGS, Fla. – The No. 10 nationally ranked Case Western Reserve University men's tennis team fell to No. 4 Emory University (Ga.) by a score of 5-4 in the third-place match of the 2014 University Athletic Association Championship.

The fourth-seeded Spartans (15-7, 1-2 UAA) now await word from the NCAA selection committee with hopes of obtaining a second-straight at-large berth to the NCAA Championship Tournament. Emory (17-6, 2-1 UAA) had finished in the top two of the UAA in each of the previous 26 championships with 23 titles.  

CWRU had finished in third place at the UAA Championship in each of the last two seasons. The Spartans this defeated this year's runner-up Carnegie Mellon University (Pa.) in the third-place match of each of those seasons.

The Spartans grabbed a 2-1 lead after doubles with wins at No. 2 and No. 1. The Eagles picked up the first point at No. 3 (8-4) before the senior duo of John Healey (Columbia, Md./Atholton) and Derek Reinbold (Carmel, Ind./Park Tudor) claimed an 8-6 victory in second position versus Jackson Isaacs and Will Adams. Next to finish at No. 1, sophomore Christopher Krimbill (Scottsdale, Ariz./Desert Mountain) and senior Eric Klawitter (Arlington Heights, Ill./John Hersey) won 8-6 against Alex Ruderman and Ian Wagner.

Krimbill and Klawitter feature as the ITA Central Region's top-ranked doubles tandem, while Ruderman and Wagner are ranked second in the Atlantic South.

After several Spartans grabbed early leads in singles action, Emory rallied for wins at No. 3, No. 4 and No. 6 to grab a 4-2 advantage. The Spartans hung in with a point at No. 5 by freshman James Fojtasek (Cypress, Texas/Cypress Woods) with scores of 6-7, 6-3, 6-1 against Nick Szczurek.

However, the Eagles secured the winning point at No. 1 ahead of the final Spartan win at No. 2 by junior Will Drougas (Roanoke, Va./Salem).

The NCAA Championship field will be announced via press release on Monday, May 5 at 7:00 p.m. on Individual championship competitors are set two days later on May 7.