Spartan Men and Women Turn in Big Wins Against BW on ‘Senior Day’

Spartan Men and Women Turn in Big Wins Against BW on ‘Senior Day’

The Case Western Reserve University women's swimming and diving team earned a 193-77 victory over Baldwin Wallace University on Saturday, while the men's squad defeated BW 209-64 in the Veale Natatorium.

Prior to the start of the meet, the Spartans recognized its three graduating men's team members – James Pierre, A.J. Quinn and Eli Rose – and the eight graduating women's squad members – Olivia Picchione, Sienna Picchione, Rhiannon Reese, Victoria Schoenig, Corri Sept, Sarah Taekman, Julia Ver Voort and Elizabeth Ye – prior to the start of the meet.

The win raised the Spartan men's record to 6-2 on the season, while the women moved to 7-2 in dual meet action this season.

The CWRU women picked up first-place finishes in 12 of the 16 events during the meet, while the men tallied 13 titles in 16 events.

The women's 200-yard medley relay team of junior Caitlyn VonFeldt, sophomore Kelly Moton, sophomore Anna Smith and sophomore Sarah Krueger won the event with a mark of 1:52.02.

Sophomore Hailey Seibert, with scores of 199.75 in the three-meter dive and 207.45 in the one-meter dive, took first-place in both events. VonFeldt and first-year Maria Pritchett each gathered two individual wins during the meet. VonFeldt won the 200-yard freestyle (1:57.69) and the 100-yard freestyle (54.92), and Pritchett won the 50-yard freestyle (24.81) and the 100-yard backstroke (1:00.97).

Also picking up first place titles for the Spartan women, first-year Abby Halsdorfer in the 1,000-yard freestyle (10:53.86), Moton in the 50-yard breaststroke (32.05), Krueger in the 100-yard butterfly (1:00.24), senior Olivia Picchione in the 100-yard breaststroke (1:10.85) and Anna Smith in the 50-yard butterfly (27.23).

On the men's side, finishing first in the 200-yard medley relay were junior Sean Twomey, sophomore Michael Clough, first-year Connor Chignell and first-year Anatole Borisov with a time of 1:38.87.

A total of nine Spartan men won individual events, with first-year Xander Guerrero winning both the 1,000-yard freestyle (9:55.26) and the 500-yard freestyle (4:49.86), sophomore Nicholas Schoenig winning the 50-yard backstroke (24.27) and the 50-yard butterfly (24.17) and junior Cassiel Yuzik winning the one-meter dive (231.15) and the three-meter dive (258.90). Additionally, sophomore Will Backer won the 200-yard freestyle (1:48.83), Clough in the 100-yard butterfly (53.14), sophomore Calvin Tecson in the 50-yard freestyle (21.04), sophomore Ryan Gilbert in the 100-yard freestyle (48.35), junior Will McDonald in the 100-yard backstroke (54.50) and first-year Patrick Cavanaugh in the 100-yard breaststroke (1:00.61).

The teams will next travel to Chicago for the UAA Championships at the University of Chicago from Wednesday, February 12th through Saturday, February 15th.