Spartan Men and Women Turn in Big Wins Against BW

Spartan Men and Women Turn in Big Wins Against BW

The Case Western Reserve University women's swimming and diving team earned a 195-95 victory over Baldwin Wallace University on Saturday, while the men's squad defeated BW 189-91.

With the win, the Spartan men's record improved to 8-2 on the season, while the women moved to 9-2 in dual meet action this season.

The CWRU women picked up first-place finishes in 13 of the 16 events during the meet, while the men tallied 12 titles in 16 events.

Freshman Hailey Seibert, with scores of 152.40 in the one-meter dive and 180.65 in the three-meter dive, took first place in both events. Senior Suhan Mestha finished first in the 50-yard backstroke with a time of 28.36 and claimed the title in the 100-yard freestyle with a time of 54.96. Senior Bhavya Kumaran added first-place finishes in the 50-yard freestyle (26.06) and the 100-yard backstroke (1:01.77).

Also picking up first place titles for the Spartan women, senior Kelsey Holmberg in the 1,000-yard freestyle (11:22.11), freshman Daniella Rupert in the 200-yard freestyle (1:57.59), senior Alli Drohosky in the 50-yard breaststroke (32.04), freshman Anna Smith in the 100-yard butterfly (59.80), senior Alexa Simoneau in the 100-yard breaststroke (1:10.43) and freshman Skye Fogle in the 50-yard butterfly (27.72).

The women's 200-yard medley relay team of Mestha, Kumaran, Drohosky and Smith won the event with a mark of 1:51.82.

On the men's side, finishing first in the 200-yard medley relay were sophomore Dakota Weinman, freshman Michael Schiml, freshman Nicholas Schoenig and freshman Calvin Tecson with a time of 1:40.85.

A total of eight Spartan men won individual events, with senior Keith Erichsen winning both the 200-yard freestyle (1:49.77) and the 500-yard freestyle (4:54.06), sophomore Mark Fox finishing first in the one-meter dive (149.65) and in the three-meter dive (200.65), and freshman Michael Clough claiming the win in the 100-yard butterfly (53.17) and the 50-yard butterfly (24.62). Additionally, senior Brody Schmidt won the 1,000-yard freestyle (9:57.71), freshman Kelvin Tay won the 50-yard backstroke (26.07), Tecson won the 50-yard freestyle (22.42), freshman Neil Wible won the 100-yard freestyle (48.32) and Weinman took the 100-yard backstroke (54.48).

The teams will next travel to Chicago, Illinois for the University Athletic Association Championships, hosted by the University of Chicago, from Wednesday, February 13th through Saturday, February 16th.