Spartan Men Defeat BW; Women Win over BW and Ursuline on ‘Senior Day’

Spartan Men Defeat BW; Women Win over BW and Ursuline on ‘Senior Day’

The Case Western Reserve University men's swimming and diving team picked up a 229-66 victory over Baldwin Wallace University on Saturday, while the women's squad defeated BW 243-56 and defeated NCAA Division III program Ursuline College 252-21 in the Veale Natatorium.

Prior to the start of the meet, the Spartans recognized its 10 graduating men's team members – Drew Hamilton, Oliver Hudgins, John Kilbane, Dominic Kizek, Ondrej Maxian, Aaron Pang, Stefan Roeseler, Evan Rose, Jared Shanks and Logan Smith – and the eight graduating women's squad members – Abigail Dessart, Jennifer Eurich, Kaitlyn Gorski, Sophia Hestad, Brooke Hortness, Taylor Johnson, Mary Katherine Miller and Inez Moore – prior to the start of the meet.

The win raised the Spartan men's record to 8-2 on the season, while the women moved to 10-2 in dual meet action this season.

The CWRU women picked up first-place finishes in 15 of the 16 events during the meet, while the men tallied 14 titles in 16 events.

Senior Brooke Hortness, with scores of 226.35 in the three-meter dive and 214.20 in the one-meter dive, took first place in both events. Junior Suhan Mestha, sophomore Olivia Picchione and freshman Caitlyn VonFeldt each gathered two individual wins during the meet. Mestha won the 200-yard freestyle (1:57.18) and the 100-yard backstroke (58.82), Olivia Picchione won the 100-yard butterfly (59.52) and the 100-yard individual medley (1:02.33), and VonFeldt won the 50-yard backstroke (27.34) and the 100-yard freestyle (54.86).

Also picking up first place titles for the Spartan women, freshman Sophia Vaccaro in the 1,000-yard freestyle (11:09.35), junior Alli Drohosky in the 50-yard breaststroke (31.30), junior Bhavya Kumaran in the 50-yard freestyle (25.69), sophomore Sarah Taekman in the 100-yard breaststroke (1:10.59) and junior Kelsey Holmberg in the 50-yard butterfly (27.42).

The women's 200-yard medley relay team of freshman Olivia Love, freshman Caroline Dudenhoeffer, senior Mary Katherine Miller and sophomore Julia Ver Voort won the event with a mark of 1:46.38. The 200-yard freestyle relay team of Kumaran, junior Renee Decker, junior Lauren Homack and Holmberg won the event with a time of 1:45.21.

On the men's side, finishing first in the 200-yard medley relay were seniors Aaron Pang, John Kilbane, Oliver Hudgins and Drew Hamilton with a time of 1:36.98. The 200-yard freestyle relay team of sophomore A.J. Quinn, sophomore James Pierre, sophomore Eli Rose and senior John Tomko also took first place with a time of 1:30.25.

A total of 10 Spartan men won individual events, with junior Keith Erichsen winning both the 200-yard freestyle (1:48.06) and the 500-yard freestyle (4:52.22) and freshman Cassiel Yuzik winning the one-meter dive (249.60) and the three-meter dive (237.15). Additionally, Hamilton won the 1,000-yard freestyle (9:50.54), freshman Dakota Weinman won the 50-yard backstroke (25.68), junior Brody Schmidt won the 100-yard freestyle (48.05), senior Ondrej Maxian won the 100-yard backstroke (56.54), freshman Jonathan Liu won the 100-yard breaststroke (1:00.96), Hudgins won the 50-yard butterfly (23.31), Pang won the 100-yard individual medley (54.54) and freshman Chris Lemley won the 50-yard freestyle (22.56).

The teams will next travel to Atlanta for the UAA Championships at Emory University from Wednesday, February 14th through Saturday, February 17th.