Spartan Men and Women Turn in Big Wins Against BW on Senior Day

Spartan Men and Women Turn in Big Wins Against BW on Senior Day

The Case Western Reserve University women's swimming and diving team earned a 206-80 victory over Baldwin Wallace University on Saturday, while the men's squad defeated BW 194-88.

Prior to the start of the meet, the swimming and diving teams recognized its six senior men's members – Jason ArneAlec DavidConnor FarrellFelipe Gomez del CampoAndrew Howes, and Aaron Tam – and the three graduating women's members  - Jackie DowlingRachael Loek and Rebecca Pakradooni for their dedication to the program.

With the win, the Spartan men's record improved to 10-1 on the season, while the women moved to 10-1-1 in dual meet action this season.

The CWRU women picked up first-place finishes in 12 of the 16 events during the meet, while the men tallied 11 titles in 16 events. 

Freshman Emily Budziszewski, with a score of 191.75 in the one-meter dive took first place.  Pakradooni added a win in the 100-yard butterfly, touching the wall with a mark of 1:00.50. Sophomore Jenny Eurich finished first in the 100-yard freestyle with a time of 55.91, while sophomore Taylor Johnson touched the wall for a time of 5:28.84 for first in the 500-yard freestyle.

In her final meet in the Veale Natatorium, Loek took the title of the 50-yard backstroke with a time of 29.95. Freshman Kelsey Holmberg picked up another title for the Spartan women in the 1,000-yard freestyle with a time of 11:17.50. Also picking up first place titles for the Spartans, freshman Lexie Simoneau finished the 100-yard breaststroke with a time of 1:10.43 and sophomore Inez Moore turned in a time of 27.36 in the 50-yard butterfly. 

The women's 200-yard medley relay team of freshman Suhan Mestha, freshman Madeleine Farnham, freshman Alli Drohosky and freshman Bhavya Kumaran won the event with a mark of 1:52.68. Mestha would also pick up a win for the team in the 200-yard freestyle touching the wall for a time of 1:58.90 and Kumaran would pick up a second win in the 100-yard backstroke with a time of 1:02.99. Drohosky would also pick up an individual win in the 50-yard breaststroke with a time of 32.43.

On the men's side, finishing first in the 200-medley relay were senior Jason Arne, senior Elliott Kerbel, senior Alec David and senior Aaron Tam with a time of 1:37.70. David also won the 5-yard butterfly with a time of 23.51. 

Seven other Spartan men won a pair of individual events, with sophomore Drew Hamilton finishing first in the 200-yard freestyle (1:45.55), freshman Brody Schmidt finishing first in the 1,000-yard freestyle (9:55.33), freshman Vini Okada da Silva claiming the win in the 50-yard backstroke (26.51), and freshman Patrick O'Donnell in the 100-yard butterfly with a time of 55.11. Additionally, sophomore Oliver Hudgins won the 50-yard freestyle (21.65) and the 100-yard backstroke (53.73), Farrell won both the one meter dive (260.3) and three meter dive (290.1) and sophomore Logan Smith took the 500-yard freestyle (4:52.10).

The teams will next travel to Chicago for the Midwest Invitational at the University of Chicago from Friday, February 12 through Saturday, February 13. Competition is set to begin Friday evening at 6:00 p.m.