Eight CWRU Football Players Named to the NFF Hampshire Honor Society

Eight CWRU Football Players Named to the NFF Hampshire Honor Society

The Case Western Reserve University football team placed eight of its senior members in the National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame Hampshire Honor Society, based on their athletic achievements during the 2016 season, and their academic achievements over their collegiate careers.

CWRU players to receive the honor included linebacker Tim Briercheck, offensive lineman Dante Capicchioni, defense lineman Tyler Doty, quarterback Stephen Guenther, cornerback Nick Kwon, wide receiver Brendan Lynch, offensive lineman Robbie Sabatelle and cornerback Owen Williams.

The NFF Hampshire Honor Society is now is its 11th year, and is comprised of college football players from all divisions of play who each maintained a cumulative 3.2 GPA or better throughout their college career.  A total of 1,091 players from 298 schools qualified for membership, setting a new record for the number of players honored in the history of the program, which began in 2007.

Qualifications for membership in the NFF Hampshire Honor Society include being a starter or a significant contributor in one's last year of eligibility (or a senior who has declared for the NFL Draft) at an NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision, Football Championship Subdivision, Division II, Division III or an NAIA college or university, achieving a 3.2 cumulative grade point average throughout entire course of undergraduate study and meeting all NCAA/NAIA-mandated progress towards degree requirements.

The Spartans finished the 2016 season with a 9-1 overall record, winning the University Athletic Association Championship and placing second in the Presidents' Athletic Conference.  Case Western Reserve will open its 2017 season on Saturday, September 2nd at 1:00 PM ET at the University of Chicago.