Voting Results from Week 4 of the CWRU Athlete of the Decade Contest

Cassandra Laios, CJ Krimbill, Nithya Kanagasegar and Chad Mullins

Over the course of the next two months, will be holding a tournament to decide the Case Western Reserve University Athlete of the Decade. The full bracket updated through the end of first round can be viewed here.

The fourth week of the tournament marked the final four matches of the first round. Voting results from this week are below:

First-Round Match #13

2019 NCAA Division III National Hammer Throw Champion Cassandra Laios advanced to the second round with 74.7% of the vote against former women's basketball player Kara Hageman. Laios will face current women's soccer player Anika Washburn in her second round match.

First-Round Match #14

CJ Krimbill, a multiple-time men's tennis All-American and 2014 NCAA Division III Doubles Champion, moved onto the second round after locking in 52.1% of the vote against former men's track and field team member Nate Wahner. Krimbill's second-round opponent will be former men's swimmer Drew Hamilton.

First-Round Match #15

Former women's tennis player Nithya Kanagasegar, the first All-American and UAA Player of the Year in the program's history, advanced to the second round after collecting 90.7% of the votes against former women's cross country All-American Justine Jeroski. Kanagasegar will face former women's soccer player Kendra Simmons in the second round of the tournament.

First-Round Match #16

In our final first round match, 2011 Player of the Year Chad Mullins earned his spot in the second round by securing 85.1% of the vote against former men's tennis player Eric Klawitter. Mullins will take on former volleyball player Tricia McCutchan in the second round.

Up Next

With all first-round matches in the books, the field for the second round of the tournament is officially set. Among the remaining athletes are three National Champions and 15 All-Americans, representing 14 different teams.

The second round of the tournament will begin next week, with four of the eight second-round matches being contested. The full schedule of matches for the second round is as follows:

Monday, September 21 – Cassandra Laios (women's track & field) vs. Anika Washburn (women's soccer)
Tuesday, September 22 – Dane McLoughlin (men's basketball) vs. Lauren Wolz (softball)
Wednesday, September 23 – CJ Krimbill (men's tennis) vs. Drew Hamilton (swimming & diving)
Thursday, September 24 – Annie Wennerberg (softball) vs. Colt Morgan (football)

Monday, September 28 – Chad Mullins (baseball) vs. Tricia McCutchan (volleyball)
Tuesday, September 29 – Erin Hollinger (women's basketball/ track & field) vs. Chris Cvecko (men's soccer)
Wednesday, September 30 – Isaac Dukes (wrestling) vs. Suhan Mestha (swimming & diving)
Thursday, October 1 – Kendra Simmons (women's soccer) vs. Nithya Kanagasegar (women's tennis)