Seventeen Spartans Named to the 12th-Annual UAA Presidents Council Scholar-Athlete Team

Andrew Hoover, Sarah Miller, Cole Jarrett and Madeleine Paolucci.

Seventeen Case Western Reserve University student-athletes were named to the 12th-annual University Athletic Association Presidents Council Scholar-Athlete Team, which recognizes the top-achieving athletes in the conference both in the classroom and in competition.

Case Western Reserve was represented on the team by senior Nicole Carty (softball), junior Matthew Chen (men's tennis), senior Patrick Crossey (football), sophomore Nick Denove (baseball), senior Jacob Frisch (wrestling), junior Dee Gose (football), senior Ilissa Hamilton (softball), senior Andrew Hoover (wrestling), sophomore Cole Jarrett (baseball), junior Travis Johnston (football), senior Anthony Kanam (men's tennis), junior Neil Mabee (men's tennis), junior Sarah Miller (softball), junior Madeleine Paolucci (women's tennis), junior Trey Razanauskas (men's cross country), sophomore Aaron Umen (men's tennis), and sophomore Anika Washburn (women's soccer).

The 17 total honorees are the second-most ever in an academic year in program history, trailing only the 19 selections from the 2018-19 campaign. This is the fifth-consecutive season that CWRU has placed 10 or more student-athletes on the team, and the seventh time in the 12 years of the program.

Seven of the Spartans' honorees were repeat winners of the award. This was the third-straight season that Hoover has claimed the honor, while Crossey, Carty, Chen, Johnston, Paolucci and Razanauskas each earned a spot on the team for the second-consecutive year. Washburn was one of 17 players on the UAA Presidents Council Scholar-Athlete Team to be named the most outstanding performer or most valuable performer by their respective UAA coaches' group.

In order to be eligible for the UAA Presidents Council Scholar-Athlete Team, student-athletes must earn first team All-Association honors (or win a UAA Championship in an event in track & field and swimming & diving) and must carry a 3.50 or greater cumulative grade point average during that playing season.  First-year students are not eligible for the award.

The 2020 UAA Presidents Council Scholar-Athlete Team was comprised of 142 honorees representing each of the eight schools in the conference, across 12 men's sports and 11 women's sports. The UAA Presidents Council created the special recognition in 2009, following a recommendation from the Student-Athlete Advisory Committee that was supported by the Athletic Administrators and Delegates Committees.