School-Record 19 Spartans Named to the 11th-Annual UAA Presidents Council Scholar-Athlete Team

School-Record 19 Spartans Named to the 11th-Annual UAA Presidents Council Scholar-Athlete Team

Nineteen Case Western Reserve University student-athletes were named to the 11th-annual University Athletic Association Presidents Council Scholar-Athlete Team, which recognizes the top-achieving athletes in the conference both in the classroom and in competition.

Case Western Reserve was represented on the team by junior Patrick Crossey (football), sophomore Dee Gose (football), sophomore Travis Johnston (football), junior Isaac Withrow (football), senior Alex Besl (men's soccer), sophomore Nathan Ekberg (men's soccer), junior Karley King (volleyball), senior Rocco Maue (baseball), graduate student Kara Hageman (women's basketball), senior Hillary Hellmann (women's basketball), junior Nicole Carty (softball), sophomore Arisa Cleaveland (softball), senior Nicole Doyle (softball), sophomore Madeleine Paolucci (women's tennis), sophomore Matthew Chen (men's tennis), graduate student Cassandra Laios (women's track & field), sophomore Trey Razanauskas (cross country/ track & field), junior Brian Holden (men's track & field), and junior Andrew Hoover (wrestling).

The 19 total honorees were the most ever in an academic year, surpassing the previous high-water mark of 14 following the 2015-16 academic year.  This is the fourth-straight year that CWRU has placed 10 or more student-athletes on the team, and the sixth time in the 11 years of the program.

Five of the CWRU honorees were repeat winners of the honor.  Hageman, Doyle and Laios each earned a spot on the 2017 team, while Maue and Hoover were each named to the 2018 team.  In addition, Laios was one of just 10 UAA Presidents Council Scholar-Athlete Team member to earn a UAA Most Valuable Performer Award during the year, and one of six to claim a National Championship.

In order to be eligible for the UAA Presidents Council Scholar-Athlete Team, student-athletes must earn first team All-Association honors (or win a UAA Championship in an event in track & field and swimming & diving) and must carry a 3.50 or greater cumulative grade point average during that playing season.  Freshmen are not eligible for the award.

The 2019 UAA Presidents Council Scholar-Athlete Team was comprised of 116 honorees representing each of the eight schools in the conference, across 12 men's sports and 11 women's sports. The UAA Presidents Council created the special recognition in 2009, following a recommendation from the Student-Athlete Advisory Committee that was supported by the Athletic Administrators and Delegates Committees.