11 Spartans Named to 10th-Annual UAA Presidents Council Scholar-Athlete Team

11 Spartans Named to 10th-Annual UAA Presidents Council Scholar-Athlete Team

Eleven Case Western Reserve University student-athletes were named to the 10th-annual University Athletic Association Presidents Council Scholar-Athlete Team, as announced by the conference on Wednesday morning.

Case Western Reserve was represented on the team by senior Cody Calhoun (football), senior Neha Cheemalavagu (women's soccer), senior Nimi Gupta (women's track & field), sophomore Andrew Hoover (wrestling), senior Nithya Kanagasegar (women's tennis), senior Zach Lyon (football), junior Christian Lytle (men's soccer), junior Rocco Maue (baseball), senior Sam Merriman (men's cross country and track & field), senior Grace Tritchler (softball) and senior Katie Wede (softball).

Kanagasegar has now claimed the award three times in her career, while Calhoun, Cheemalavagu and Merriman each claimed the award for the second time during their careers. The other seven honorees all earned their first career berth to the team.

In order to be eligible for the UAA Presidents Council Scholar-Athlete Team, student-athletes must earn first team All-Association honors (or win a UAA Championship in an event in track & field and swimming & diving) and must carry a 3.50 or greater cumulative grade point average during that playing season.  Freshmen are not eligible for the award.

The 2018 UAA Presidents Council Scholar-Athlete Team was comprised of 108 honorees representing each of the eight schools in the conference, across 12 men's sports and 11 women's sports. The UAA Presidents Council created the special recognition in 2009, following a recommendation from the Student-Athlete Advisory Committee that was supported by the Athletic Administrators and Delegates Committees.