Seven Spartans named to UAA 30th Anniversary XC Teams

Seven Spartans named to UAA 30th Anniversary XC Teams

Seven former Case Western Reserve University Spartans were among the athletes named to the University Athletic Association 30th Anniversary Men's and Women's Cross Country Teams.

The team consists of each student-athlete who earned Individual Champion honors or accumulated five or more points in his or her career, with two points awarded for All-Association first team recognition, and one point for second team honors.

Men's team honorees included Steven Cullen, Matthew Finnerty and Aaron Johnston-Peck.  Johnston-Peck is the only UAA Men's Champion in program history, winning the conference meet in 2004, while also earning second team and Rookie of the Year honors in 2003.  Matthew Finnerty was a three-time All-UAA First Team finisher (2001, 2002 and 2003), while Steve Cullen claimed first team honors in 1993 and 1994 and second team honors in 1992.

Both Cullen (1993 and 1994) and Johnston-Peck (2004) went on to claim All-America honors during their respective careers.

The four women representing CWRU on the 30th Anniversary Team are Kristen Bowhers, Esther Erb, Justine Jeroski and Andrea Park.  Erb claimed the UAA Championship in 2007, while also claiming a first team finish in both 2005 and 2006.  Jeroski is also a three-time first team finisher (2008, 2009 and 2010), while Bowhers earned first team honors in 2006 and 2007, and was a second team finisher and UAA Rookie of the Year in 2005.  Park is the only four-time All-UAA honoree in CWRU cross country history, recording first team finishes in 1993 and 1994, and placing on the second team in 1992).

Jeroski was also a three-time cross country All-American (2008, 2009 and 2010), while Erb claimed a pair of all-America honors over her career (2006 and 2007).

A total of 94 former and current student-athletes from across the eight conference schools were selected to the UAA 30th Anniversary Teams, including 48 women and 46 men.