13 Spartans Named to Ninth-Annual UAA Presidents Council Scholar-Athlete Team

13 Spartans Named to Ninth-Annual UAA Presidents Council Scholar-Athlete Team

Thirteen Case Western Reserve University student-athletes were named to the ninth-annual University Athletic Association Presidents Council Scholar-Athlete Team, as announced by the conference on Tuesday afternoon.

Case Western Reserve was represented on the team by senior Zach Broujos (men's soccer), junior Neha Cheemalavagu (women's soccer), junior Chanan Demery (football), sophomore Nicole Doyle (softball), senior Jacob Grindel (men's soccer), junior Kara Hageman (women's basketball), junior Nithya Kanagasegar (women's tennis), senior Nick Kwon (football), junior Cassandra Laios (women's track & field), sophomore Jessica Liu (women's tennis), junior Sam Merriman (men's cross country and track & field), senior Matt Moy (wrestling) and senior Jake Shields (baseball).

Kanagasegar and Kwon each claimed the award for the second time during their careers, while the other 11 honorees all earned their first career berth to the team.

In order to be eligible for the UAA Presidents Council Scholar-Athlete Team, student-athletes must earn first team All-Association honors (or win a UAA Championship in an event in track & field and swimming & diving) and must carry a 3.50 or greater cumulative grade point average during that playing season.  Freshmen are not eligible for the award.

The 2017 UAA Presidents Council Scholar-Athlete Team was comprised of 99 honorees representing each of the eight schools in the conference, across 12 men's sports and 10 women's sports.  The UAA Presidents Council created the special recognition in 2009, following a recommendation from the Student-Athlete Advisory Committee that was supported by the Athletic Administrators and Delegates Committees.